So what happened? Well, as a young adult in the midst of education and job stuff, KC suddenly became very busy. And because she wasn't there to remind me, I forgot to. I also lost confidence in my ability to write about a controversial issue without sounding like I'm spitting venom.
But I'm back, because when I'm passionate about something, I see it through to the end!
So here we are, and I'm just going to touch briefly on something that made me and KC really irritated back at school.
One of her friends, let's call him Chuck for the sake of having something to call this anonymous person. One of her friends at school was personally a very committed prolifer. But when asked to join our group (keep in mind, we did things like baby bottle drives and praying in front of clinics. Nothing too hard!) he said "Well, I think that the less we say about abortion, the better. Ignorance is bliss, right?"
![]() |
| Is it April Fools day or are you being serious? |
Ignorance is most definitely the problem here. You are not helping babies by keeping your mouth shut.
Ignorance about the abortion issue hurts everyone involved. It hurts the woman who thinks she only has one option. It hurts the baby who is killed as a result of the woman's ignorance. It hurts prolifers, who are assumed to be crazy nuts.
If you make an effort to educate people, then the woman won't feel so trapped. She will know that she has other options. And as a result, more babies will be saved. You can show people that prolifers are normal people like everyone else, and that we are open to conversation.
Don't use tired clichés like 'Ignorance is bliss' to try and justify whatever it is that keeps you from acting.

No comments:
Post a Comment